Which Path When New to P&C?

BradNC

I'm new to P&C insurance after doing life insurance for several years and having clients and other people ask me to start doing it. I got my licenses and have to make a decision about how to move forward. I have 2 real estate agents asking me to take their clients' business and lots of our life clients want help with P&C too.

Option 1: Really close friend owns a very successful independent agency in another state. I'm in NC. He says I can run all my P&C stuff through them. 32% of commission on new business and 30% on renewals. They have all the built in support for quoting through support, etc. I wouldn't own the book and that wouldn't be an option. I couldn't bring in other guys either (like I have under me with life).

Option 2: Join a group cluster. I'm not sure which direction I would go with this yet, but priorities would be on good carriers, owning the book, and training/support/quoting help. I'd own the book, but it might be expensive to take it anywhere. I haven't been able to find any info on what the commission splits are, so any info on that would be helpful.

What path is the better long term decision? What will help me learn the business the best? Any other input from experience is welcome.

I have been participating on legal forums for 16 years and hardly a week goes by that I don't read somebody's nightmare because he/she went into business with their "good friend" that they "trusted" and ended up getting screwed and losing the friend and the business.

For that reason alone I suggest you keep your "really close friend" and your business separate.

That's my two sense worth.

PS: Why wouldn't your "really close friend" be willing to make an arrangement with you where you owned your book? After all, he owns the agency, he can make whatever arrangements he wants to make.