Who are the Independent Brokerages?

mxh259

Hello All,

I am currently a producer with a captive agency looking to open my own independent agency. I am familiar with Goosehead and Brightway and heard of associations but I am looking for a comprehensive list of all of the options for the state of Pa (Southeastern Pa to be more specific). So far I am most attracted to Goosehead with the proposition of 0 service work but I’ve seen a lot of feedback questioning the fees (40,000 franchise fee in my state and 50% renewals). Any input would be greatly appreciated!

There are almost some local ones as well. But you should also look at the local SIAA master agency as well as PGI.

That is an absolutely massive franchise fee, what do you get for it?

Thank you VolAgent. I just happened upon a site for SIAA before i read your comment and i will check out PGI as well. I also found this site regarding clusters AgencyEquity.com | Advanced search results

Any input on the clusters? Some of those listed there are saying no fees and that makes me suspicious like if it’s too good to be true... it probably is. I’m trying to find a balance of support to help me grow and reasonable fees. Again... thank you for the feedback!

Also... I am looking to start my agency with me being the only producer until i can bring in enough commissions to pay for a producer and a CSR. Is that totally unheard of?

I personally went with SIAA, but not all contracts are the same. Master Agencies have a lot of latitude, and some are better than others.

@shawnmwalker is with PGI and I'm sure he'll be along shortly. I personally did not care for the contract, however I also respect the NDA I signed with him, so until they send me a signed release I won't comment on it. He and I have spoken at length about it.

I also know of agents in another group that love PGI, and I'm glad it works for them. And I know agents that hate SIAA with a passion.