Why use you?

saieddie

Guru
100+ Post Club
What do you say when a client asks you this question? I usually say something like: I'm an independent insurance agent and work for my clients. I've researched all the companies I use to find the best mix of quality and price so that I always feel confident when I give my offers to my clients.

Pretty well said.

To add to what you've said, I would relay to the prospect/client that "there is no logo or name on my briefcase. If I came to you with State Farm, Prudential, or Met Life, that would be the only product(s) I could show you.

Because I am independent, I am able to "shop around" on your behalf.

Being an independent, I have researched different companies, and can tell you, with certainty, that no one company is the best for all people. Each insurance company has it's niche. What I do for you, is find the best opportunity, based on the information you provide, and what fits within your budgetary requirements.

More than anything else, I take all that industry jargon, and put it in terms you can understand. It is my belief that, if someone fully understands what they are getting into - the good, the bad, and the ugly - then nearly 100% of the complaints about the product, and the company, go out the window.

I don't charge a fee, and you are under no obligation to work with me. Allow me the opportunity to show you what type of a person, and professional, I am. Then, you can make your decision at that point, fair enough?"

That's great Bob - I also let everyone know I don't charge a fee. You'd be very surprised the number of clients who think you charge a fee and maybe the reason some of them aren't getting back to you is they think there's a fee for the service.

I echo what everybody has said. I do emphasize that I am "local" and that my office is extremely charitable in the community.

By the way Bob...MetLife agents have access to virtually every major company (through their General Agency).