Windows Vista

Jun 1, 2007

  1. Expat
    Offline

    Expat Guru

    Posts:
    748
    Likes Received:
    4
    State:
    Texas
    Does anyone know if it is feasible to upgrade from Windows XP to Vista.
    I have heard on the grapevine that most Insurance companies’ software is not compatible with Vista. Can anyone shed any light on this subject?
     
    Expat, Jun 1, 2007
    #1
  2. somarco
    Offline

    somarco That Medicare Expert Guy

    Posts:
    28,797
    Likes Received:
    2,273
    State:
    Georgia
    Personally, I never "beta" anything, especially an OS. I upgraded from 2000 to XP last year. Will probably wait 2 yrs at least on Vista.

    If I need a new computer in the interim, and I never buy "new", always one that was only used on Sunday by a little old lady, I will buy it with XP.

    You can ask your carriers, but my guess is most of them are behind the curve on Vista. Some of their software still runs on 95. Haven't seen any DOS software in a while, so that is a good sign . . .
     
    somarco, Jun 2, 2007
    #2
  3. Wprice
    Offline

    Wprice Expert

    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nationwides Agency Anywhere software works on DOS...
     
    Wprice, Jun 2, 2007
    #3
  4. joshril
    Offline

    joshril Guru

    Posts:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    3
    State:
    Oregon
    I have a laptop with Vista... not too many incompatibillities with insurance software, but I have problems with my Lexmark printers and driver support is horrendous.. I've spent hours I could be selling messing with Vista problems.. Don't upgrade!!! I've thought about saving all my files and reverting to XP on the laptop

    Not to mention it's a resource hog.. You really need a dual core processor and at the LEAST 1GB of RAM. Vista has some cool features, but they do not outweigh the current problems!
     
    joshril, Jun 2, 2007
    #4
  5. Crabcake Johnny
    Offline

    Crabcake Johnny Guru

    Posts:
    14,811
    Likes Received:
    15
    State:
    South Carolina
    I'm the "if it's not broke then don't fix it" guy. I'd be on 2000 if it wasn't for a buddy of mine who installed XP for free. I don't need to launch the space shuttle. I need to read and compose email, run rates and get online. I could still be using my old 386 and probably run everything just fine.
     
  6. Expat
    Offline

    Expat Guru

    Posts:
    748
    Likes Received:
    4
    State:
    Texas
    Vista

    Thanks, I have the Dual core/1 MG, but I think that I will hang on to XP for couple more years. Plus I think that BCBS Texas still uses parchment and quill pens for a lot of their functions.
     
    Expat, Jun 2, 2007
    #6
  7. somarco
    Offline

    somarco That Medicare Expert Guy

    Posts:
    28,797
    Likes Received:
    2,273
    State:
    Georgia
    And they sell them at a discount to BX GA when they can't find their quill sharpener . . .
     
    somarco, Jun 2, 2007
    #7
  8. Expat
    Offline

    Expat Guru

    Posts:
    748
    Likes Received:
    4
    State:
    Texas
    If it"s not broke

    I had my old computer for 8 years, (Pentium3/333mghz Win98) however Fortis software would not show properly and ran at the speed of molasses in December. In a case like that you have no option but to upgrade.
     
    Expat, Jun 2, 2007
    #8
  9. Crabcake Johnny
    Offline

    Crabcake Johnny Guru

    Posts:
    14,811
    Likes Received:
    15
    State:
    South Carolina
    I don't use the new Assurant sofware - hate it. I do everything from my agent site.
     
  10. salpro22
    Offline

    salpro22 Guru

    Posts:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    25
    State:
    Texas
    When you guys are all done talking about computers let us know how the last Star Trek Convention went will ya!!!!!
     
Loading...