working with other agents..contracts

troyt73

I am looking for a sample contract that one agent may use when working with another agent of a different company. Here is my short story. I have only a couple years experience selling Life & Health, and have worked with a local agent that specializes in Estate Planning (which he provides his clients for free in the hope of an insurance sale after the planning is done). I would eventually like to do Estate Planning work myself, so I am trying to learn from him.

My problem is we don't have a working contract to protect my interests. He seems to try and take over the show, and runs illustrations on his own. So far, he has not made contact with any clients without me, but I would like a document in place in case such a problem would arise. Anyone have a similar contract that I could look at?

As far as I am concerned, when he is dealing with my contacts, he is working for my company. I would like something legal to keep it that way. Like my business card is used solely, so I don’t loose customer referrals who would call him directly.

He is also much older, and seems to forget what is said between us. Recently I found out a lead that I provided for estate planning, was handled because he did not remember that I told him that the client would be calling.

What do you suggest? Also, what would be a fair percentage for the other agent of the commissions off of any sales?

me thinks you'd better learn your stuff quickly... I've seen this situation many times.... he's the shark and you're the chum....

Find another source before too long to learn from. One that isn't going to swoop in and take the business.

I agree. One of the biggest problems with respect to agreements is enforcement. What are you going to do if he "steals" a lead or a client? What attorney is going to take your case and how much are you willing to pay the attorney for probably not winning anyway?