Would Like to Sell Life Insurance and Annuities Independently

ch3rryc0ke

I am new to the forum and I am writing this post to seek help and basic advice to sell Life Insurance and Annuities Independently.

I am a medical doctor who is currently in his Internal medicine residency. I am currently in my 2nd year out of 3 total years. I am 29 years old.

I would like to be a part time independent Life and Annuities agent. I want to do this for few reasons. Mainly I want to have recurring income from commissions.

I am currently in a training program with 90+ residents, all doctors age group 25-35 who are going to be full time soon with a sizeable income streams. Most of them do not have any sort of life insurance etc. I want to be able to use my niche position to be able to sell them policies and earn commission on them. These fellow co-workers are good friends and for me it would very easy to sell insurance to them. Basically would just have to find right product for right person.

I sincerely believe I am in a unique position to sell insurance to my fellow residents and young physicians, and I want to take advantage of this opportunity. Even if I sell say 4-5 policies I would be fine with it. I already know 5 co-workers looking to buy 1+ million in life insurance coverage. I would also like to look into selling disability insurance as my coworkers are interested in that. I also want to be able to sell to family members.
Over the future I would expect to sell maybe 1-2 policies a year and I am fine with that.
Few other questions I have are

If I am an independent agent, can I buy my own life insurance? Can I buy my own annuities in the future? Which company or clusters can I join as an Independent agent?

I guess I read the book “rich dad poor dad” by Robert Kiyosaki one too many times a kid in high school and ever since I want to get out of the rat race and be able to replace salary with business income.