X-date

JimmyUt

Guru
1000 Post Club
Utah
I am new to the P&C game, and I realize the importance (at times) of having someones x-date so you can market more effectively. That being said, I hear agents on here talk all the time about doing that, and I am curious as to why they are not just selling them. Am I missing something here, or when they say they are x-dating someone, is that only because they could not close them now. If you have a better product that costs less, why wouldn't someone change immediately, rather than wait until they renew? My limited experience is that most people pay monthly, so I can't imagine it makes a difference. I would appreciate any input.

I don't do a lot of P&C x dating, but in the commercial insurance arena, it takes longer to prepare the quotes and get them ready to present. X Dating is a nice way of introducing yourself, and being able to contact them before they get the next years premium bills and are thinking about shopping the insurance around.

There are 2 Types of X-dating.....

First one is for when a accident or ticket falls off their record, these are KEY People, because NOW you can save them money because as you know, the surcharge generally wont fall off their policy until renewal.

Second X-date is simple policy renewal, I honestly dont do this, lots of work, people will buy from you now and not on renewal date so much.

Commercial X dating is huge thou, it can take 30 days to get a quote back in some cases.....plus on commercial, the short rate can be HUGE

I've wondered the same thing and having managed a small Allstate office once upon a time and talking to some of the older agents, my best guess is that they are stuck in doing things the way they used to have to do it.