AIG Insurance

netpicker9

Hi,

What is AIG Insurance?

What are their Products? How they work?

I am intrested to know about them, Can anybody explain to me.

Thanks in advance
Seshu

AIG (American International Group) is a massive company that provides just about any kind of insurance and financial service imaginable, as far as their product line. There is no doubt they offer some good products at reasonable prices from what I've seen. I would certainly consider them for P&C coverage, as a consumer. As an agent, I doubt I would ever sell AIG.

I am not a particular fan of AIG, from the agent perspective. They market HEAVILY online, which essentially turns around and cuts their agents' throats and ultimately, IMHO, does a disservice to most clients with relatively little knowledge of the various products and options in the insurance/financial world. As far as insurance and financial products go, AIG is a publicly traded company so I wouldn't recommend them for any type of permanent life product, but that's just more my own philosophy (though I've heard it echoed). In addition, I'm pretty sure that AIG, while now rated A++, had some financial trouble a while back and slipped to a B rating from what I heard, which is pretty poor for a company of that size. That just doesn't happen to Northwestern, NYL, Guardian, etc. and I leaves me believeing that even though AIG meets the standards of the A++ today, you're comparing apples to oranges when it comes to holding them up to the major mutual companies for long-term protection and growth products.