Hail Damage - Erie

ltdpilot

I am a rookie when it comes to insurance. Had some hail damage and the adjuster inspected it and created an estimate. Then he offered to send me the cash via a debit transaction. I didn't sign anything but he did send me the estimate amount. Now, I have an estimate scheduled with a body shop next week and am realizing it'll likely be much higher than the insurance estimate. The adjuster said they would pay the shop a supplement in that event but I'm not sure I'll do the repair and would prefer the cash myself (plus I have a PDR buddy who will give me a deal). Can I use the shop estimate to adjust the adjusters estimate? What are the rules here? I just want the insurance to pay me the fair value for the repair.

You can try but your carrier would most likely only deal with the body shop for any supplement. Have the shop submit their estimate and see if your carrier accepts it and will pay you because you "won't schedule repairs right away"

You can try but your carrier would most likely only deal with the body shop for any supplement. Have the shop submit their estimate and see if your carrier accepts it and will pay you because you "won't schedule repairs right away"

Thanks, I will be travelling frequently for work and I will be out of town for quite some time over the next few months. So this would make it very difficult to schedule to work as my wife isn't in a position to handle it. So maybe that would help?

Is it possible to file the supplement myself after I get the estimate from the shop?

Here's how it works.

"Here's the money to repair your car. If it costs more the shop will submit a supplement. We will pay the supplement to the shop when the repairs are completed. No, you aren't going to pocket any additional money by not doing repairs."

Besides, if the car's not repaired, it's likely that the company will no longer provide damage coverage.