Income Annuities

A

agent99

I am sort of new to the boards, but I have a few years of experience with income annuities. I am currently contracted with American Equity, RBC and Forethought.

Forethought is fine for the first few years, but the latest reduction in comp has me a little worried about its stability.

What are your opinions on Forethought and its future?

Thanks.

I am sort of new to the boards, but I have a few years of experience with income annuities. I am currently contracted with American Equity, RBC and Forethought.

Forethought is fine for the first few years, but the latest reduction in comp has me a little worried about its stability.

What are your opinions on Forethought and its future?

Thanks.

I believe that Forethought is a good company, and fits a certain niche.

The problem with Forethought is that they aggressively priced the product in the beginning, hoping to attract interested agents with 10% commission. It worked.

Once they had the production and premium they wanted; they simply cut back the commission to reduce the appeal. Sound familiar!!!!!

I believe that Forethought is a good company, and fits a certain niche.

The problem with Forethought is that they aggressively priced the product in the beginning, hoping to attract interested agents with 10% commission. It worked.

Once they had the production and premium they wanted; they simply cut back the commission to reduce the appeal. Sound familiar!!!!!

I think they are struggling with Capital like many others so it is not unexpected that they would reduce commissions. They want to slow annuity sales right now. Same as many of the others have been including American Equity, Aviva, Equitrust.... The average commission last quarter was the lowest ever for IA sales according to a report I read.