need advice on opening a insurance agency

Kingpin

Hi, I'm from California and I've been selling Truck insurance as part-time for the past 2 years. Now, I'm thinking about opening up my own agency. I've been around Trucking Transportation since my childhood, and for the past two years i've been writing truck insurance policies. I was wondering if someone could advice/guide me in the right direction. Any advice would be helpful. How hard is it to get appointed with brokers/companies?
Thanks for your help!!

-Sat

I was wondering if someone could advice/guide me in the right direction. Any advice would be helpful.

first print up a bunch of tri fold brochures and buy a ton of cardboard fold out pamphlet holders and hit every truck stop you can find....give the cashier a 5 spot for not chunking them after you leave.....then here comes the best part....you sit down and have a chicken fried steak /w cream gravy mashed taders lunch with a big glass of tea....because really...thats the best place to find dahammm good CFS......you might gain some weight though.....your call

For commercial, it's pretty tough to get direct appointments with companies. You won't write enough business to warrant the time they would spend (unless you are going to hire 50+ people).

You'll have to find someone to work through, an MGA of sorts, though I'm not sure what the correct TLA (three letter acronym) is for commercial brokers that allow you to write the business. These are pretty common, you just have to find a company who you want to write with, then find who you can write through. Most carriers will point you to someone.