Need Help for Hep C Client

retread

Guru
1000 Post Club
Kansas
I have a 50 y.o. male NS that has recently been dx with Hep c. It seems impossible to find IFP due to auto decline. He is a painting contractor by trade with several employees. I use the term "employees" loosely because I think they are independent contractors, but I will find out. In the meantime, can someone advise if selling him on the idea of forming a small group will aid him in getting health insurance coverage?

He would be eligible to participate in his own company's group plan, wouldn't he? His only other hope is to join the state high risk pool.... He doesn't have insurance now, so he is not HIPAA eligible.

Much depends on state law and how a small group is defined. Generally, most carriers require at least 2 full time W2 employees, 50% employer contribution and 100% participation for smaller groups (under 5 lives). There are some situations where you can get by with lower participation but it is a carrier by carrier situation.

Carriers must accept all applicants but can apply pre-ex waiting periods for those who do not have prior creditable coverage. Usually HMO's are more liberal and will cover pre-ex from day one.

When you add it all up, if he qualifies for the risk pool that may well be the least expensive route.

Now comes the question you should be expecting. Why is he uninsured and did he just decide to buy coverage once he was diagnosed?

Much depends on state law and how a small group is defined. Generally, most carriers require at least 2 full time W2 employees, 50% employer contribution and 100% participation for smaller groups (under 5 lives). There are some situations where you can get by with lower participation but it is a carrier by carrier situation.

Carriers must accept all applicants but can apply pre-ex waiting periods for those who do not have prior creditable coverage. Usually HMO's are more liberal and will cover pre-ex from day one.