ROTH annuity options

RunnerDude

Super Genius
I am relatively new to annuities and Roth conversions. I have a 68 year old (single, female) Medicare client with about $965,000 in Edward Jones ($300K is non-qualified; the rest in traditional IRA accounts). She is interested in protecting her money from loss due to market downturns, inflation, and future tax increases- as well as potential long-term care needs in the future. She also wants to leave a legacy for her children and grandchildren. Her home is paid off, and her monthly income consists of $2,000 from social security and $1,000 from Edward Jones. She states that Edward Jones is charging about 2% per year to manage her accounts. She is concerned because of recent losses due to market downturns. I have briefly mentioned the idea of converting about $500,000 to Roth accounts of some type, and she is willing to listen. I know about the Allianz Benefit Control FIA with Roth conversion, but would like to know other possible options. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

So you want to do the ROTH as a legacy solution?

Its going to be hard to make the numbers work out well these days, especially with current annuity rates. Lots to factor in with a conversion, especially the price of being bumped into a higher tax bracket in the year of the conversion, also loss of tax credits, deductions, etc. Without their accountant involved its almost impossible to do the math correctly.

Most ROTH conversions are not a single conversion, but multiple conversions to avoid being bumped into a higher tax bracket on that converted money. And the number of annuities that are flexible premium are very few these days. So that would mean multiple products over multiple years.

Imo, you are going down a rabbit hole that you probably dont need to.