What Would You Offer This Client?

affirmwealth

Expert
I am new to health insurance, especially in the light of healthcare reform, and would love to help this family.

Okay, it is a married couple with three children. He is a 47 yo diabetic. Their two oldest children are college age. He has a doctor that he travels an hour to go see. He has only been to the doctor a few times a year.

Recently, he went to the emergency room for a pinched nerve in his neck. They have coverage through Cynergy but still got a huge bill.

Now he says he is willing to pay higher premiums as long as there are no more surprise bills. Plus he wants his college students to be covered.

What would you offer this family?

Put him in a high risk pool if available, put the oldest kids on their own plan and the wife and other child on their own plan.

I just wanted to say thank you to everyone that responded, and in particular the healthcare.gov site is very helpful.

I just wanted to say thank you to everyone that responded, and in particular the healthcare.gov site is very helpful.

The sad thing about the new high-risk pools created by
ObamaCare is that you have to be non-insured for six
months before being eligible.

Does anyone know how the government (U.S. or State)
will know that you are currently insured?

-Allen

I am new to health insurance, especially in the light of healthcare reform, and would love to help this family.

Okay, it is a married couple with three children. He is a 47 yo diabetic. Their two oldest children are college age. He has a doctor that he travels an hour to go see. He has only been to the doctor a few times a year.

Recently, he went to the emergency room for a pinched nerve in his neck. They have coverage through Cynergy but still got a huge bill.

Now he says he is willing to pay higher premiums as long as there are no more surprise bills. Plus he wants his college students to be covered.

What would you offer this family?