Whats My Option

eza4short

Expert
Hey all, I am new to annuities so any and all information is great in regards to my question . My question is If a person is getting a settlement for a very large amount could he put this money into a immediate annuity with out having to worry about paying taxes or will he have to pay them any way? Also what is the norm with commission structure with annuities companies

Re: Whats My Option.

A portion of an immedate annuity is non-taxable as a "return of principal". The rest is taxable income.

The carrier will calculate it according to a persons age, length of payout, etc.

The payout will have what is called an exclusion ratio. This will show how much of each payment is taxable. In General interest is usually taxable and premium is usually not. I would get several quotes and as SPIA (Immediate annuities) rates will vary by company.

typically Spia commissions are much lower than that of a deferred annuity. They are in the general range of 2-3% in most cases some a little higher some a little lower.

Why not try a split annuity and not loss control of the money and have 2 commissions with another one 5 or 10 years down the road or a FIA with an income rider are much better options MOST of the times??

Hey all, I am new to annuities so any and all information is great in regards to my question . My question is If a person is getting a settlement for a very large amount could he put this money into a immediate annuity with out having to worry about paying taxes or will he have to pay them any way? Also what is the norm with commission structure with annuities companies