Would Like To Start LTCi Sales in TX

grod,

Being a successful LTCI expert is a lot like rocket science I think.

There's not a lot of rocket scientist's in this world either.

Did you place over $150,000 LTCI last year?

If I had placed that amount of business, it would mean I would have already transitioned into the business and there would have been no need to make the original post. I make my living in the medsup world. As I said, it's not rocket science, just trying to avoid the landmines with contracting.

Some carriers provide excellent support, and others don't. When you are just getting into LTCi, it is really helpful to have someone to call with the many questions you will encounter before, during, and after each sale. If you are with an agency that provides this support, and you are being trained by those who sell it, you should be able to pick it up pretty quickly. If not, you need a carrier that provides strong support. Either way, jumping in without any help is pretty hard.

It is definitely not easy, but it is easier than a lot of products. We sell quite a bit of it, and many agents who used to sell mostly life, are now selling mostly LTCi. Great commissions and renewals, excellent retention, etc.

The media helps sell it, you can print articles from various celebrities who tell everyone to buy it. Even certain shows on CNN push it.

Here is a link to a helpful article that has helped many agents we work with sell LTCi:

Long-Term Care Insurance - Suze Orman Financial Advice - Oprah.com

Best luck to you!

It is extremly difficult for a med sup person to become a LTCI person. Two totally different types of sales. Medd sup is logical. LTCI is very emotional. As a matter of fact. After 11 years of LTCI sales, I have not yet met a medd supp person that could sell LTCI successfully. I have hired and tried to train many of them. But hey, that is just one guys experience. Good luck, and let us know how it works out.