Aetna Commissions

She faxed me the 3 page "Welcome to Aetna" letter. Page two listed her pre-existing conditions and said: (paraphrasing) " To keep these conditions from being considered as Pre-Existing by Aetna, you should provide proof of creditable coverage, if that coverage was in effect during the last 63 days."

Well, this lady hasn't had health insurance since her American Republic individual plan lapsed in April.

So Mike, you're saying that this is something your customers don't get in PA? This was my first and only Aetna client, so I've had zero experience with the company until now. It is strange that she didn't have to sign riders, even though page 2 sounded like her Pre-X conditions were being ridered.

-Allen

I've never sold an Aetna plan, but have sold plenty of Cigna plans and they are very similar.

If they didn't have creditable coverage in the last 63 days, there is a 12 month wait before pre-ex is covered --even if a rate-up is applied to cover said pre-ex conditions.

100% rate-up and also 2 exclusion riders

She faxed me the 3 page "Welcome to Aetna" letter. Page two listed her pre-existing conditions and said: (paraphrasing) " To keep these conditions from being considered as Pre-Existing by Aetna, you should provide proof of creditable coverage, if that coverage was in effect during the last 63 days."

Well, this lady hasn't had health insurance since her American Republic individual plan lapsed in April.

Aetna does not issue riders.

What you discovered is the break in creditable coverage that quite a few carriers use.

WHEN she supplies a letter of creditable coverage the pre-ex waiting period will be reduced from 12 months to 12 months less the number of months she had creditable coverage in the past 12 months.

Based on your post, looks like 7 months.

Aetna's underwriting is all over the boards, but not as messed up as Coventry. They will take a fair number of folks at 100% rate up that others will decline.