All Work and No Pay

Kitten

Hello everyone. I’m new here so I’m sorry if I’m posting myquestion in the wrong forum. This question is for all agents and agentassistants.

I’ve been working as an agent’s assistant for about 6 monthsand I’m just not making any money. I’m getting paid minimum wage and I’msupposed to be getting 50% on commissions but I’m not.

Whenever someone calls for a car or home quote, I take theirinfo, I convince them to let me quote both car and home (not just one or theother), I deal with the underwriting in case they have claims to give them thebest rate that I could, I call them with the prices, email and mail out thequotes, and follow up until they get the policy. They never even speak to theagent. Yet, she takes 100% of the commission and I get nothing. I asked a fewtimes about that and her answer is always “it’s my marketing that brought themin”, when in truth, the corporation did the marketing and she only got theclient because she’s the closest agent.

Then she told me that if I can get people from her existingbook of business to get additional policies that I will get 50% of thecommission, but once again, I got nothing.

Ultimately, I learned that the only way I will getcommission is if I sell it to my family and friends. I don’t feel very motivated to sell policiesfor her when I don’t get anything out of it and then this company’s premiumsare double what other companies offer. I feel like I do all the work when she’snever even in the office, and when she is, she spends all her time on her phonetalking to her family and friends while I do all the work.

My question is; is that how all agents treat their assistants?Or should I be on the lookout for another job?

I pay my licensed staff commission on new sales+ salary. You must get commission other wise just go to another agent office. Who do work for Allstate, state farm or farmers?