Anyone Here Do Financial Advising Too?

LifeHealth

Expert
Hey guys I appreciate all the answers I get on this. I don't mind you being brutal at all.

I'm currently a Health/Life/Medicare agent and I'm really wanting to start in investments and financial advising. Is any one here a financial adviser? Did you start in insurance? Not sure what I should do! Should I get my series 7&66 or my 63&65 only? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

"Financial advisor" is not a regulatory term. By all counts, I am a financial advisor, but I do not hold current Series 7/66 licenses.

If you want to be licensed to offer securities products/services, you need to decide what you want to offer and the appropriate licensing:

Selling securities for commissions requires licensing and registration with a broker/dealer:
- Series 6 (mutual funds and variable insurance)
- Series 7 (stocks, bonds, mutual funds, ETFs, municipals, options, and variable insurance)
- Series 63 - Blue Sky Laws often required with either a Series 6 or 7.
- Series 66 - combines the series 63 and series 65 into one license/exam for those who hold the Series 7

Institutional Money Management as an IAR for an RIA (fee-based asset management):
- Series 65 - Investment Advisor Law of 1940.

The commissions on the broker/dealer side can be lucrative, even after the payout grid. However, compliance, rules, regulations... will be a nightmare and will impact every facet of your current insurance business. In fact, you would have to disclose your insurance sales as an Outside Business Activity and you *may* be limited to only selling insurance through your broker/dealer. Any advertising, correspondence, websites, etc., will all be subject to compliance oversight and pre-approval. Technically, all your posts here would also be subject to that oversight.