Business Insurance Questions

Agent1986

I have been a P/C agent for 4 years. I concentrated mostly on personal insurance (home and car). However, I had been having success with restaurants and have a few other commercial accounts. Therefore, at the beginning of this year, my boss and I decided that I should concentrate solely on commercial. He sent me to several commercial training classes and I have been targeting local businesses for their property, GL, workers comp, business auto, etc.

We are a small independent agency with direct appointments through Travelers, Liberty Mutual, Selective, and Grange. At this point, I am getting frustrated with the way commercial insurance seems to work. It is soooo slow.

Company reps come visit and ask us to send them target accounts and when we do, we are either not competitive or we just don't even get a firm quote to present. Has this happened to any of you? I am having the most trouble with contractors, non profits, churches, and manufacturers.

My compensation is commission only. I get paid half of the commission that the agency receives on my new business and renewal accounts. Although I feel this is a fair split, commercial insurance feels different because it's not nearly as fast as the home/car insurance process. I'm having a hard time staying afloat and am getting discouraged with the companies that we do represent with their ability to get quotes back to us in a timely fashion. Do we need to pick up some other commercial carriers? What would be a few solid companies to look into? We are located in South Carolina.

Commercial is a much longer sales cycle and is even less impulsive than auto/home.

Quote times are directly proportional (usually) to how targeted the quote request is to the company that you asked to quote and how complete the quote package is. The more research they have to do, the slower it gets. If you have a reputation of submitting harder to quote business, you will get slower responses as well.