Captive SF Agent - Exit Strategy

Greetings all.

I am a State Farm agent. My husband is fully licensed (P&C, L&H). He used to help me out in the agency, but these days is inactive. However, he still has access to SF systems. I have grown every line of business in the past year. My agency does $30-$40K per month of P&C premium. We are pretty good in life, not so bad in health either.

I feel I can do better by reducing expenses and going independent with higher contracts and choice of carriers. I learned a lot with SF, and now I think I can take it to the next level. There are several reasons that I am not ready to leave yet:
  1. Too much time left on office lease - I cannot (nor would not) want to pay for this office when starting Indy. The closer I get to the end, the better. Less risk.
  2. Getting a scorecard bonus on March 15 - which should eliminate all/most of my debt.
  3. I've reduced marketing costs which will help me pay down debt and "get to a better state"
  4. I want to keep my office phone number, office furniture, etc... I am sure SF would want the phone number and if I refuse to give it, nothing stops them from refusing to take over my lease while they search for a new agent. I would rather leave SF 4-6 months before my lease ends, then keep the office as Indy for 4-6 months, THEN relocate. There are obvious reasons for this.
  5. Will reduce staff early next year to stash some additional cash for the new Indy biz.

One of the strategies that I was thinking of was for my husband to resign as a SF team member and start a new company that he would run. He would NOT be trying to bring my book of business over. I have no interest in hurting SF and I intend on preserving my SF business while I am still here. And when I leave, I intend on honoring my 1 year non-compete.