Duties of an Unlicensed Insurance CSR??

MRC0527

I'm having a really difficult time trying to find an answer to my dilemma, so I thought I'd give this a shot.
I'm in Illinois and started working for an agent about a couple months ago. I am brand new to the insurance world. I am not licensed, although the agent said that he would help me get there, but his argument is that there are no quality insurance classes to take. Anyway, I'm concerned about how much I should be doing in the office in terms of servicing policies. I spoke to the agent about it today and he says that I'm allowed to do everything as long as he does a final check on any new business I write.
He has it to the point that he is doing VERY little for the clients and referring them all to me. I'm adjusting coverages, taking payments, soliciting higher coverages, quoting, and writing new business.
Reading through the IL statutes, it is my understanding that if I am not licensed, I can only do administrative tasks that don't directly involve solicitation, selling, and negotiation.
Can anyone shed some light on this for me? I just want to make sure that I'm not committing a crime working here. Thanks!

I'm having a really difficult time trying to find an answer to my dilemma, so I thought I'd give this a shot.
I'm in Illinois and started working for an agent about a couple months ago. I am brand new to the insurance world. I am not licensed, although the agent said that he would help me get there, but his argument is that there are no quality insurance classes to take. Anyway, I'm concerned about how much I should be doing in the office in terms of servicing policies. I spoke to the agent about it today and he says that I'm allowed to do everything as long as he does a final check on any new business I write.