Getting Answers to Questions

bbuckley

I am new to Property and Casualty insurance, only been doing this since September, and am wondering if my experience so far is unique, or just how it goes. Having been in the Kitchen and Bath manufacturing business for 22 years, I have a lot of contacts in the construction field, and thus have not really had any trouble getting opportunities to quote these friends, associates and acquaintances insurance.

But, what I am having a lot of trouble with is getting all the information I need to provide quotes. The hardest item being the loss runs, then NCCI experience modification sheets, and then getting the declaration pages for their current policies.

It's not like they are saying no, I will not give you that information, it's just a matter of them saying they will get it, then just not following through and doing it. In most cases I am providing a form they can send to their carrier or their current agency that all they have to do is sign it and fax it in to the number I provide.

What am I doing wrong, what could I do differently to get answers to these questions?

just a thought, when i'm doing a fact finding interview i make a point to tell them that the more info i have...the better my bargaining power when it comes to getting rate credits...that seems to increase their involvement

if they don't respond, i haven't created the proper relationship yet

Do you sit down with them and treat them like a legit prospect or assume that because you know them they will dish out the info?This can really turn people off, need to go through the steps.

Personally I would offer to do it for them. Have them point you in the direction of their stack of papers and make copies yourself etc... Even if its a small 4-5k policy referrals from friends are worth the extra effort. You have to work the referrals even harder not the other way around.