Getting Appointed with Colonial Life

It sounds like most of you don't understand the commission structure. Or the roles.

If you're a Colonial agent, you don't do any other insurance. The commissions aren't bad at all, but it's the QTD and YTD bonuses that add up, as well. Often, they can can be 100% or more of your commissions.

My cousin was looking for work, so I recommended Colonial as I really like the local guy and his team. My cousin is doing well by simply trying to help the employer, and the employees. All of her groups are small (3- 15 lives), and she is on target to make about $65,000 total this year.

She was only making $34,000 in her previous job.

If you're selling other products, you are a broker, and should be on a broker contract. Brokers don't "sell" Colonial, they should use their Colonial team. Although maybe you don't have one (a good one).

I am a broker and do group products. I have my local Colonial team do most of the work on the voluntary stuff (presenting, coordinating, enrolling, servicing, supporting). We just get the commission, which often equals $900/hr or more for the time we put in.

In Reno we have some of the highest unemployment in the nation. My business is up quite a bit over last year, as employees are looking for help. Most brokers around here are lazy, and don't try to actually help the business or their workers, they focus on "selling" to the owner.

Education and not sales is they key. Educate the business owner and the employees and they will participate, now more than ever.

It sounds like most of you don't understand the commission structure. Or the roles.

If you're a Colonial agent, you don't do any other insurance. The commissions aren't bad at all, but it's the QTD and YTD bonuses that add up, as well. Often, they can can be 100% or more of your commissions.