Hello from Texas!

txinsurance1

Hello to all. I am a newly appointed agent as of January of this year. I contemplated getting into the insurance business for about 2-3 years before I finally decided to take the state licensing exams for L&H and P&C in April of 2011. And am proud to say that i passed both on the first try....I sure didn't want to have to pay/take those exams again.
I have been a reader of this forum since the beginning of this year even though i just recently registered. I have found alot of helpful and positive information from some great people out there and of course some that doesn't necessarily belong.
Anyway, I am currently working for a debit company which has its pros and cons as everything else. I have found out that in this side of the business, a certain percentage of clients will give you the majority of your headaches, ie. tracking a client down only to have them tell you that you will have to come back for their monthly premium. I was really hoping to receive some better training initially instead of the 1 week read this and that and you're off but i understand that alot of your knowledge and experience will come in the field. I just hate passing along some information that come to find out was wrong. Anyway, enough about that. My intentions were to get in captive with a company and get my feet wet and someday open an independent agency. Although working independently from home starts to sound alot better due to overhead costs.
We have a great forum here and I look forward to spending more time on here and who knows, maybe our paths will cross one day.

I am from Texas and new to this also, I am currently studying for my l&h license. What was the exam like? Was it hard? I've heard the l&h was easier than the p&c. What study material did you use, If you don't mind me asking.