Hired Auto Coverage Long Term Rentals

ARWCM3

I work in the commercial auto industry and have seen significant increase in rental spending with the shortage of vehicles. I see companies place large vehicle orders to keep up with demand and use rentals for several months.

I recently was told by a client that a rental branch told them rewriting the rental contract every 30 days, ensures the commercial auto policy provides coverage. That client had an annual rental spend of $1.2M.

Is anyone seeing carriers deny claims for long term rentals if the insured didn’t request them to be scheduled on the policy?

I quote from the General Conditions of the Commercial Auto form CA0001:

Concealment, Misrepresentation Or Fraud This Coverage Form is void in any case of fraud by you at any time as it relates to this Coverage Form. It is also void if you or any other "insured", at any time, intentionally conceal or misrepresent a material fact concerning
a. This Coverage Form;
b. The covered "auto";
c. Your interest in the covered "auto"; or
d. A claim under this Coverage Form.

Preventing the insurance company from collecting the appropriate premium for the actual risk is concealing or misrepresenting a material fact which could result in denial of a claim and rescission of the policy.

One of the elements of materiality is would the insurance underwriter have charged a higher rate had he known of the actual risk? The answer is yes, he certainly would.

Remind your client that his policy has that condition or words to that effect. Ask him what it would do to him and his business if there was a large claim and he found himself with no coverage, especially since the next insurance would double or triple his rates.

I see companies place large vehicle orders to keep up with demand and use rentals for several months.