How much P&C experience before going Broker solo?

RobGarcia93

How much experience did you guys have before going solo as a P&C Broker? I'm still new to the insurance world, 4 months at a major captive agency. I know I still have a lot to learn, but I feel like I have a good understanding about the insurance world. How much experience does Progressive, Liberty Mutual, etc look for?

How much experience did you guys have before going solo as a P&C Broker? I'm still new to the insurance world, 4 months at a major captive agency. I know I still have a lot to learn, but I feel like I have a good understanding about the insurance world. How much experience does Progressive, Liberty Mutual, etc look for?

Going "solo as a P&C Broker" today means joining a Group/Cluster/Aggregator that has access to carriers and in turn you pay them a piece of the action. Going solo without any joining any group today is not really a possibility.

Many Groups/Clusters/Aggregators to choose from. Some don't care about experience levels and may take you on with 4 months experience without a problem. Some may require 5 years in the bus with $1 million profitable book. Just be careful and understand the contract and the costs associated of getting out.

Personally, it took me 22 years to jump ship from a Captive. Granted 15 of those years were quite fun.

Learning the business on someone else's dime is the way to go. But after a couple of years you should be indy. I would really suggest learning everything you can on the commercial market now. Placing your future in the auto and home insurance market is not the direction to go. IMHO.

Good Luck to you and Good Selling!
Dave

I am p&c commercial only broker. I've done well enough that I now only work part time and make a full time income. I do not own an agency, but I am an independent agent. I started captive.