HSA question

kstein

Guru
1000 Post Club
Anyone have thoughts on this?

Are you familiar with HSA discrimination rules? I could use your help with a unique client situation. Below are the relevant facts.

· S-Corp owned 90% by primary corporate employee and 10% by part-time employee. The 90% owner is highly compensated. The 10% owner is not – he earns about $10,000/year for part-time work.

· They executed a group, high-deductible plan (HSA eligible) for 2019. The 90% owner wants the company to fund a pro-rata contribution to their respective HSA accounts up to the max this year. So, he would receive $3,150 (90% X individual limit of $3,500) and the 10% owner would receive $350 (10% X $3,500). Again, this would be a corporate contribution.

I’m no HSA expert, but this sounds like discrimination in favor of the highly compensated 90% owner.

Thoughts?

Assuming this is outside of Section 125, correct. Comparablility rule appears to be violated, meaning employer needs to contribute either the same $ amount to both, or the same % of deductible to both. (Btw, you can contribute more to non-HCE.). If true, there is no tax deductibility.

I am having to use a telephone right now and have no clue how to copy a link.

I found some hsa information on a site called upcounsel.

If I am following the info correctly, it says what he should be doing is establishing a full time and a part time employee class. He can then define a flat contribution or percent of limit contribution for each class.

I believe you are right that his current idea will cost him penalties.

I am having to use a telephone right now and have no clue how to copy a link.

I found some hsa information on a site called upcounsel.

If I am following the info correctly, it says what he should be doing is establishing a full time and a part time employee class. He can then define a flat contribution or percent of limit contribution for each class.