MA vs. Supplement

Delta76

Guru
100+ Post Club
Basic question, I'm just getting into senior products:

When comparing MA plans to traditional supplements, the MA's are much less expensive. I'm told the disadvantages to MA plans are you assign your medicare rights to the company and possibly have a more limited network.

If the network is a fit, what is the disadvantage of assigning your rights? I believe you can switch carriers during the next open enrollment anyway. What am I missing?

I have the option to sell both for a number of companies, I just want to do right for the client.

My understanding is that you are right in that they assign their medicare benefits to the company the plan is under, meaning the company might have different allowable charges than Medicare. I was also told by a coventry representative that the doctor can chose to accept or not on a per visit basis. So even though they accept it this week for this procedure, they might not accept it next for a different procedure, meaning you would have to pay full price.

One advantage I do like about MA plans is the preventative care not covered by supps, the vision, dental and hearing and out of pocket limits.

I've gotten so many different answers about MA plans I don't what's what.

It depends on the client's budget, health (can they qualify for a supp?), what supps and MA's are available in the area, etc. Some areas have MA's with higher premiums and Supps that are lower. Other areas, particularly larger metro areas, will have $0 premium HMO and other plans but will have high supp premiums.

Out of pocket limit is not an advantage for the MA plans. It costs thousands more.

What do you mean here? How so. Suppose you have zero plan premium and an MOOP of sat 3000. How does that cost more than original medicare assuming that the coinsurance rates are roughly similar.

Winter