Need Help with Group Health Problems

Labman

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Fellas, I'm relatively new to group health sales and have a question to see how you guys handle things.

The biggest obstacle I have ran upon is giving a business a quote, which was better in price and benefits. Yet, they shop me against their current provider after I did all the leg work.

I'm trying to differentiate myself by talking about servicing their accounts etc. but I need to find more reasons for them to fire the current guy and hire me. My goal in not to just walk in and give a quote, hell anyone can do that. I want to offer more so I'm not just another agent wasting my time giving quotes only to be shopped around.

Thanks!

I don't understand...are you saying you get them the quote that is cheaper and better coverage and they give it to their current agent? If so, that has happened to many of us at one time or another. Try keeping the name of the carrier your showing to yourself. When they ask who is the carrier (and they will), tell them that you would rather not say now because you have had the experience of doing all the work just to have a client pass it along to their current agent, etc.

Everyone talks about service; the only way to show that is to prove it. Have you tried getting in the door with Group Life, Dental or LTD? Maybe by starting small and proving that you provide good service, they will switch to you later?

If you're upset that they want to verify what you say is true or shop to see if they can get a better deal...can you blame them? The bottom line is the bottom line, especially now.

Sounds more like a Prospect Qualification problem really.

The term is "Practice Quoting" and you need to STOP it today!

You might try being last in too ... first in for specs - WAY off x-date or open enrollment date, and the last one to present - period.