New to the Business... Considering Purchasing Books

IvoeWesley

Hello everyone,

I am very new to the business, but I really like the idea of purchasing books from Allstate. I realize that it all sounds good, especially considering my lack of experience and knowledge. I read a few forums about it, but I need to know what to look for. I am far from rich and if this goes wrong, it will be life altering.

Please walk me through this process. I would be ok with paying a fee if you got your hands dirty. Fo example, you actually look over the papework with me and give honest advise, as if it was your money.

If you need more facts, please let me know.

There are a lot of facts missing.

Buying a book from Allstate can be a great deal. This forum is mostly indy folks so they're going to dog on it, but the Allstate deal can be a great gig. They're going to make you jump through a bunch of hoops that will help you be successful. You are going to need a robust marketing plan to hit your numbers and if Allstate raises their rates, they still expect production.

A lot of agents do pay more for an Allstate book than they should because they don't know any better. A great deal of it will come down to location, but the metrics on the book (loss ratio, retention, growth, etc) are going to drive your bonuses, so those are important too. I know a guy that bought a book at a very reasonable price because the loss ratio was pretty ugly.

How far along in the process are you? Have you seen their entire pitch and requirements? Do you have the liquid assets and such to be able to undertake the project?

Josh,
I'm at the beginning of the process. I am schedule to meet with someone today. I don't have the liquid assist, but looking into taking out a small business loan to cover it. However, I am not sure how that will work. This is one of my major concerns... Any suggestions?

iiinycboi,