Normal hours for underwriters

SirPalomides

Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum. I currently work as a producer and am looking for an underwriting job. I just completed my CPCU on my own and I got an interview with a small- midsize specialty homeowners carrier. From my initial talk with them they sound like a nice place to work, with good pay and benefits. They mentioned that the hours are 8-5 though. Is that normal? Thanks.

They mentioned that the hours are 8-5 though. Is that normal?

Yes. With an hour for lunch so the actual work day is 8 hours. However, underwriters are salaried and exempt from overtime so you might some day find yourself contributing extra hours. Goes with the job.

Many companies have some sort of flex time, which doesn't usually get revealed until after you are on the job.

And if your territory is in another time zone, you might find yourself avoiding rush hour traffic.

Understand, as an underwriter, you're basically in a production role. Year end can be brutal, as every carrier on the planet wants year-over-year growth, and every agent wants a solid year end. December may make you feel like your digging mineshafts with a pick axe.

Curious why you would want to underwrite over being a producer? A lot more money in being a producer and less work imo.

From my experience underwriters never stop working... they get all kinds of emails and calls throughout the day. Supposedly its a typically 9-5.

Curious why you would want to underwrite over being a producer? A lot more money in being a producer and less work imo.

From my experience underwriters never stop working... they get all kinds of emails and calls throughout the day. Supposedly its a typically 9-5.