Pay Out of Pocket / Get Reimbursed - What About Pre-authorization?

dgoldenz

Virginia
Given all the massive problems with enrollments not being done on time, I keep hearing "they can pay out of pocket and get reimbursed later." What about services that require pre-authorization? Anyone dealt with this?

What SHOULD happen: Physician calls carrier and gets pre-auth for procedure, at their location, under the plan the client is going to be enrolled in. They get a PA number, and include it in box 23 of the universal "CMS-1500 claim form".

If they don't get PA, it's handled like any other claim that doesn't have PA (doesn't really matter if the enrollment is complete or not). If they would've covered it, they'll probably cover it, but may deny just because it wasn't PA'd. If they normally wouldn't have authorized, they'll deny the claim.

It's a bit of a dice roll.

Interesting post. I may be behind but this is my first time ever hearing of a CMS Form 1500. This is also the first time in my career that I’m dealing with applications missing in action. That would have never been tolerated by an agent in the past. Some companies said to have the client to go to an in network providers and pay out of pocket then submit a claim once their information arrives to the company. Another has something called a “Believe Me “ policy where the client can use services for free until their application is received and then they are billed according the terms of their policy.

I’ve never given much thought to the cases that need pre-authorization. So thanks dgoldenz for posting this and RayNY for your answer.

What SHOULD happen: Physician calls carrier and gets pre-auth for procedure, at their location, under the plan the client is going to be enrolled in. They get a PA number, and include it in box 23 of the universal "CMS-1500 claim form".