RCE Values and Coverage A

ahl77

Hi folks,

I'm a fairly new licensed agent so I have some "newbie" questions. This is one:

Sometimes, insureds come up with their own Dwelling value. It doesn't matter that you explain to them that the RCE for the specific carrier came way lower of what they want, they still want to stick to their numbers.
For me its fine, if that gives them satisfaction but...would the carriers mind they are being "over insured"?

In few words, I understand the carrier wont insure for less than their RCE, but would they have an issue if the dwelling goes over the RCE?

Thank you all in advance.

As long as you've explained to the client that the insurance company is only going to pay the cost to reconstruct the home as it is today, then it won't hurt to make the client happy. This is assuming there is replacement cost on the dwelling.

Some companies are okay with you being around 15% above the RCE, but they will come back and request proof of upgrades if they feel the coverage is too high.

Just explain that to the client, they usually appreciate the education and honesty.

Hi folks,

I'm a fairly new licensed agent so I have some "newbie" questions. This is one:

Sometimes, insureds come up with their own Dwelling value. It doesn't matter that you explain to them that the RCE for the specific carrier came way lower of what they want, they still want to stick to their numbers.
For me its fine, if that gives them satisfaction but...would the carriers mind they are being "over insured"?

In few words, I understand the carrier wont insure for less than their RCE, but would they have an issue if the dwelling goes over the RCE?

Thank you all in advance.

Simple, sit down with the client and do the RCE right there with them, then they cant argue much if its higher and you just showed them proof....