Serious about starting indepedent agency ASAP

Strategy101

Expert
Hello All,
While I am not new to browsing these forums, I am new to creating a profile and posting. I am looking for some very specific information as it is my goal to start an agency as soon as possible. I have been licensed for over 8 years, mainly working as an account manager but I have not really enjoyed my work because I have more of an entrepreneurial spirit and have always wanted to work for myself. The time has come where I have decided the time is NOW. From my understanding, the easiest way for me to get this off the ground is to join a general agent, aggregator or something like that to have the appointments I need to write business through some of the top rated carriers? Once I join said general agent, what should be my next step? I plan to be the owner and producer initially and as business grows, I will possibly looking for some account management assistance. I plan to start off in commercial lines p&c as this is what I have been working in for the duration of my time as an account manager. Are there any Niche markets you think might be beneficial in my situation? Do you think it's possible to work my business from my home office where everything is handled virtually? And do you know of any well seasoned agency owners who might be interested in doing some consulting work to assist me with my endeavors.
Thank you

Well you have a decision tree here. I'll lead you down one path, but it is biased.

"Begin with the end in mind"- 7 habits of Highly effective people.

Decision #1:

What end of the Ins Spectrum do you want? if you answered P&C keep reading. If ''Other" wait for the others to respond

Decision #2: Captive or Independent.

Captive:

Pro: They will teach you a lot but inevitably you will go Indy at some point in your career. Another Pro, they will subsidize your life for a time.