UHC Says GI? Client Leaving Retirement Medicare Plan

yorkriver1

Guru
1000 Post Club
Virginia
New to dealing with retirement Medicare benefits, normally I can't save them money, here I can, very much. Verizon retiree Medicare coverage getting out of hand ($125 deductible, $1,000 max OOP, forgot to ask cost sharing %), likes Plan N. Medicare is primary, like I said, I am new to this, had to ask. Checked, are there any ancillary benefits, no. Just MedSupp type coverage/PDP in one plan. Saving over $200/mo, and Plan N is likely to be lower OOP.

Age 78, issues too many for almost all Med/Supp (internal cancer, radiation, chemo in last 12 months), was going to do underwritten rates for UHC/AARP. Called them, oh, no, it's GI, due to leaving retirement coverage. Even on PDP? UHC swears this is how they consider leaving retirement Medicare plan. Check the "plan is ending" box on Med/Supp app.

Calling to double check on SEP for PDP. They say that, too. Not cancelling coverage or writing PDP until Med/Supp app is issued. No money with app.

A little disappointed about GI, due to commission, but that's not the primary motivation...

Next client T65, eligible for retiree benefits from our state. Any suggestions for finding out what benefits they offer for future reference--other than getting with client after he talks to benefits rep? I sold an on exchange/no subsidy health plan to the spouse, saves $ from retiree rates under 65. I consider working on this as my training for any future state retirees as prospects.

----------

SEP-LEC per Humana. OK if voluntary or involuntary. Learn something new daily. I swear the written material says if the plan ends/is discontinued.

Can someone comment on experience learning about employer retiree plans common in states where you sell? Maybe no best way, but thanks in advance for any suggestions.

From my experience, every group plan will be different. It is up to the company what they want to offer their retired employees.