UNUM LTC policy - residency requirements...where to find and how to interpret?

Tia Suzanne

Hi! Newbie here-

If a resident of a LTC facility wants to be "home" a lot (especially due to covid) instead of at the LTC, is there a Federal/State law or some Insurance Industry protocol that states how often she needs to stay overnight at the LTC facility to keep her actively on claim and not get denied continuing benefits? There is a major concern that she is not living (overnight) at the facility enough and will be canceled once they notice.

My first guess is that in the policy language it's mentioned, but I'm not sure it states a specific formula anywhere (like 60% residency) or if it is an open-ended metric (subjective).

She's been going home to her family intermittently through this whole COVID mess and now the family is worried that during an annual review (2021) it will come to light that she's been "gone" for a lot of the time.

Fortunately with many of the children in her family on COVID WFH status, they've been able to manage having her at home, but that is unusual. They'll be going back to their own homes (other states) once all the vaccines are administered and won't be at the family home to help out anymore.

In case it matters:

1. She is in Assisted Living due to a serious seizure disorder, resulting cognitive impairment and short-term memory issues. She is very young for an A-L facility.

2. Pre-covid she would leave the facility on her own every day for a walk in town, to run simple errands etc. She can not work or drive due to the combination of her cognitive &memory issues. No physical impairment.

3. The LTC manages her seizure medications and that's the ONLY additional service they provide, other than random monitoring due to her seizure frequency.

So...I guess I'm wondering 'where in the policy' do I look to see where this kind of home vs away calculation would be mentioned?

Thank you!