Working the Defector List

zimm118

Hi my name is garrett im new to the insurance business. I am working for my grandpa as a producer and he wants me to work the defector list. I am looking for any helpful tips on how to do this effectively any advice is appreciated
thanks, garrett

its the cancellation list the list of people that have cancelled. Ive always heard people call it the defector list

Hi my name is garrett im new to the insurance business. I am working for my grandpa as a producer and he wants me to work the defector list. I am looking for any helpful tips on how to do this effectively any advice is appreciated
thanks, garrett

Why don't you ask grandpa?

Ah.

Not a P&C agent, but I would do it as brutally honest.

"Hi Mr. Johnson, this is Bob over at Hometown Home and Auto. I saw you recently cancelled your insurance through us. I wanted to call and ask if there is anything we could have done differently? Is there anything I can do to earn your business back?"

That, and get a very thick skin. Most will probably be price, some will be service issues and will give you what for.

First thing you need to know is WHY did they cancel and what have you done to change it?

Did they cancel due to rates? Have you added new competitive carriers?

Did they cancel due to service, well, then you probaly dont have much of a chance....

I would work up quotes with the info you have and mail that to them also....

Working the defectors list (and yes, that's what its called) is not the easiest place to start, but sometimes can be profitable.

Face it, if the agency did something wrong and they left, you won't win them back. I've seen this where phone calls weren't returned, claims didn't go right, whatever. Those people are gone, don't waste a lot of time trying to fix the problem, let time do that.