Would You Recomment FIA To..

aztec

Would you recommend a FIA to a 64 yrs old female (turning 65 in 3 months) with some minor health issues? She is retired and receiving 700/month from social sec. She has 20k in IRA and plans to leave it for her children. She has no life insurance and doubt she can get one. Husband is still working and plans to retire in a couple of years. They have no emergency fund. They owe 20k on house. Household income is ~30k.

If yes, what company and product would you recommend?
If no, why not?

Oh yeah, I'm fairly new to annuities.. :err:

If she KNOWS she is leaving it to her kids a single premium life policy would be better.
As a 2nd choice an annuity would be good. She might want to consider one with a death benefit increase guarantee.

can you place an IRA in a life policy? I didn't think so, but could be wrong.

Missed that part. She would have to pull it out and pay taxes now. That would make it a tax-free inheritance though so it might be worth running the numbers.

With only making 30K in income, that is a possibility. Could also look at an immediate annuity and pay the WL premium. That would keep the taxes low and achieve the goal.

Last edited:
You guys think that taking a 20k ira cashing it in, paying the taxes on it and funding life insurance is a good option for someone that has a mtg, no savings and has a paycut coming?

*I dont really think there is anything wrong with an annuity for her depending on how she wants to use the money. She could aviod market risk, while maybe picking up a little extra interest on her money and take her distributions as needed.

Last edited: