3 Characteristics of Young Insurance Customers (and how to Sell to Them)

sbkarren

With quick online quotes and a growing number of online insurance resources available to consumers, young insurance customers are being wooed like never before. To win and keep their business you need to understand three important characteristics of this audience:

Characteristics of Young Insurance Customers:

• They want to do it all online
  • They’ll only give you 15 minutes
  • If they feel you are “selling” to them, they’ll bolt

Corresponding tips on how to sell to these young customers can be found on the Engagex blog.

-Boyd

Shop all the major carriers as they shop by price alone. If you can show them that you did your due dilligence by shopping the best carriers and rates for them; they will go with you.

I hope this helps.

I'm a 26 year old agent (property and casualty) and young people who are on a budget will obviously be more price oriented but if you find a rate in their ballpark (if they have previous insurance; mainly referring to homeowners), use your experience and education to put some doubt into there head about their current policy. I have a few friends who are buying new homes and the policies they have are just... scary to say the least. Named perils, ACV all the way around. Really just crap policies with no substance. Present it right and you can really make a splash in their money-hungry minds :)

We may be young but those of us that are getting into are late 20's, early 30's, are starting to see the light ;) They just need a push.

Good luck