Becoming a financial advisor at age 48

wolfe42

Expert
Hi Everyone,

I have been thinking of becoming a financial planner as I have just turned 48 this past April. I am in a position to start a new career or business and wanted thoughts as if it is to late to start a career in this field.

I understand it is a tough business to get started in the beginning and have been told it’s going to take at least 2 years to make consistent money flowing in monthly.

I have a opportunity to work with a friend of mine that I graduated with that has been working in his fathers business and said I could come aboard anytime and take the time I need to learn the business

What are your thoughts on this please and thank you

Hi Dave,

It's been a few years since we last talked.

Do you believe that you would be able to stop "selling" in the traditional sense of the word and be able to just help people make educated decisions and understand the consequences of those decisions?

Hello!

I’m so glad you are still on here. I didn’t do anything with my licenses before and let them lapse because the mentor that brought me in just didn’t really care to help me get started

So I am starting from scratch. Yes I DO believe in that and the great thing about that as well is the company I would work with and not for believes in that concept as well

With that in mind, we need to look at this like a business.

What segment of the marketplace will you work? This video may be helpful:

In addition, because YOU are taking on the risk, you need to "interview the interviewer". This video may be helpful for that:

Hi Everyone,

I have been thinking of becoming a financial planner as I have just turned 48 this past April. I am in a position to start a new career or business and wanted thoughts as if it is to late to start a career in this field.