Best way to "terminate" previous agent/broker

nauticalx

Hi folks,

This might be a stupid question but as a newbie, I wanted to put best practices in place. What say you about the best way to "terminate" the previous agency once you procure and place a renewal for their former client? Obviously, we want to let them know to let-expire their policy and that our policy will be taking over, but do you usually fax or email them, and does anyone have a pleasant and professional template they use and can share?

I don't want to be rude or disrespectful, so to the extent someone has learned from bad practices of others, I'd love to implement a system that is respectful of my fellow agents. Thanks.

Hi folks,

This might be a stupid question but as a newbie, I wanted to put best practices in place. What say you about the best way to "terminate" the previous agency once you procure and place a renewal for their former client? Obviously, we want to let them know to let-expire their policy and that our policy will be taking over, but do you usually fax or email them, and does anyone have a pleasant and professional template they use and can share?

I don't want to be rude or disrespectful, so to the extent someone has learned from bad practices of others, I'd love to implement a system that is respectful of my fellow agents. Thanks.
I have the policyholder sign a letter telling the company to remove them from the monthly bank draft and have them request to be billed direct and either fax it or mail it for them. If anything does go wrong, I can put them back on the bank draft, otherwise it'll lapse on it's own.

If you notify the "former" agent, you're inviting him back in to try and save his business.

I'm not sure what type of insurance you sell. I'm talking Life and Health.