Communicating Benefit Plan Changes

insurehound

Guru
100+ Post Club
Escondido
I had a very interesting meeting today with my Aetna Small Group Rep. He gave me a great "oh, by the way". Apparently he has had some issues and feedback from various brokers that Aetna does not notify their members when there are benefit changes at renewal. The member must go to the website to learn about them.

As a good broker, I always try to communicate any plan changes at renewal but I would think that since Aetna and the member have a contract, Aetna has the obligation to inform them of any changes to that contract.

Have you heard of this?

Good topic.
I have this issue bite me a few times. The last batch was on ER Co pays being changed from $150 to $250.

My carriers are all over the board.

UHC does not change the plan designs. That is why they have over 300 strings of coverage.

Anthem informs the group at renewal with only the renewal policy and the certificate of coverage. The COC has more than 100 pages in it.

I think you would have to dissect the master contract to see the legal definition of what the carriers responsibility is. This is why we now have to deal with SBC 90 days in advance to plan changes.

Oh, I'm sure they have found a way to get by any legal issue but it's still wrong. I'm going to have to make sure I spend extra time reviewing the changes to benefits. It's too bad Aetna can't help me out on it. It would better to hear the changes from the company your paying and from the agent. I like how they pushed that onto the agent's image :)

I don't think there is a specific contractural relationship between the carrier and a group's members. The contract is between the insurer and the group and any rights the members have are via the group. Using another example, say the group stops paying premium and the carrier cancels the group... does the carrier need to notify each group member? No.