Contingencies for Beneficiary Designation

Ann H

Guru
5000 Post Club
Arizona
I'm an agent and I should know this answer, so I'm embarrassed to ask... But I hate life insurance (sorry), and I must admit I don't know the answer.

I have 4 kids and also take care of my mentally retarded sister. I want my primary beneficiary to be my husband. I want my contingent beneficiary to be my 4 kids and my sister (equally) if my husband predeceases me. So far I can handle that!

So, the primary is for My Dear Husband - 100%
The Secondary is for Kid #1, Kid #2, Kid #3, Kid #4, My Sister - equally

Here's the problem with the secondary beneficiary. My sister has no spouse or kids and likely won't ever have any. If she predeceases me or dies concurrently with me, I want her portion divided amongst my 4 kids (who are named right along with her as the secondary beneficiary). I don't want her portion to go to her estate which would mean it would then be distributed to our siblings. How do I word that?

Last edited:
You might want to do some follow up with this just to make sure the insurance company understands, but naming the secondary beneficiaries per capita should accomplish this (for now).

Generally this applies to the generational level, but the State of NY told me it works on beneficiary levels as well. Per capita in this case means the benefit will be distributed only to next level beneficiaries if none of the higher level beneficiaries are alive.

Now this may make for trouble once your children have children, but until then this should work.

You might want to do some follow up with this just to make sure the insurance company understands, but naming the secondary beneficiaries per capita should accomplish this (for now).