Going Independent, Companies with Little to No Production Requirement?

InsuranceBrah

Expert
Hey guys. So I'm a captive agent with Mass Mutual. I've been in the Biz For about a year now. However I'm finding with the amount of support I'm getting for the costs I'm paying I might as well work from home as an independent.

For the price I pay for my Cubical (That I don't use) + other services I could pay for my own E&O. While I'll admit I'm not the best salesman I'm confident that I know enough about the products to Sell with little to no supervision. Heck I'm doing it now. I just feel I'm heading in the wrong direction and becoming a career life agent/Broker when my goal is to be a Fee based advisor without my clients tied to any one company.

My problem is because I'm new to the business I would find difficulty contracting with larger companies that have large production requirements. Especially since I only want to sell Part time while I go to school for finance. Eventually I want my main business to be Fee based Financial planning. Obviously I can't hit quotas while taking classes full time.

In short my goals are
Sell Term and WL Life Insurance to supplement my income
Charge 25-50 basis points for Fee based advising, Mostly focusing on passive management. Until I feel I'm qualified to Charge 100BPs for active management.
Continue going to school.

In short I'm looking for some good companies with affordable term rates, Low Production Requirements, willing to contract with newer agents. I would also like a good Mutual company on that list. Google Seems to turn up nothing for me.

Thanks ahead of time for any advise you have to offer.

Hey guys. So I'm a captive agent with Mass Mutual. I've been in the Biz For about a year now. However I'm finding with the amount of support I'm getting for the costs I'm paying I might as well work from home as an independent.