Guaranteed Pay

BA-35

I'm fairly new to insurance sales and was hoping to solicit some feedback from the group...

I'm a captive agent for a mid-sized P&C carrier. My commissions are fair, however, there is also a guaranteed income feature.

For my first year, I'm guaranteed a flat amount. In year two, this flat amount decreases a bit. In year three, it decreases more and finally, at the end of year four, the guaranteed feature expires.

I'd love to hear the forum's thoughts...is this a standard feature? Am I on to a good thing, or is this a basic for a new hire?

Thank you
BA-35

What are you a Farmers agent? Try the search function while you wait for more opinions.

Not many succeed on these deals. I know of a couple out of my career class that are still doing it and making it work. Out of 20 or so. Search and read. Everyone's situation is different. If they are giving you a book of business to work and draw renewals off of, you might succeed. Regardless of which company it is, you will need to cross sell and especially concentrate on life and securities. the P&C at best for the first few years might pay the office expenses. If you dont hit certain numbers what you are drawing against is a loan they will want paid back.

I'm fairly new to insurance sales and was hoping to solicit some feedback from the group...

I'm a captive agent for a mid-sized P&C carrier. My commissions are fair, however, there is also a guaranteed income feature.

For my first year, I'm guaranteed a flat amount. In year two, this flat amount decreases a bit. In year three, it decreases more and finally, at the end of year four, the guaranteed feature expires.

I'd love to hear the forum's thoughts...is this a standard feature? Am I on to a good thing, or is this a basic for a new hire?

Thank you
BA-35