How Do You Feel About Hiring a Coach?

BigMoses777

After reading a large amount of these threads I am wondering what the general feeling is about hiring a coach to help you build your practice. I understand that the cost can sometimes be prohibitive, but what is the general feel about coaches and the programs that are out there. I want to be upfront and honest, I am a coach in this industry and I'm looking for some feedback. One of the toughest things for advisors and agents to overcome is the "stereotype" of being equated to a used car salesman. I wonder if there are any stereotypes about coaches and coaching programs. All opinions are welcome, you won't hurt my feelings. :)

I think that there's some value in having a coach (or consultant) help an inexperienced agent build a practice, or even help an experienced agent sell new products (like P&C agent who wants to start selling life or health).

The biggest drawback is as mentioned above, the cost. A new agent typically doesn't have a lot of money. An experienced agent wanting to enter a new line might be more receptive to having a coach.

The second issue is regarding the experience and reputation of the coach. Am I hiring someone competent who knows what he's doing and who will add value to my business?

Finally, is this coach running his own agency? Will he be my competitor? If he's not running his own agency, then why not?

Anyway, just my thoughts.

I think that coaches can be invaluable; however, as oldinsuranceguy stated, those who oftentimes need it the most, may not be able to necessarily afford it when they are just starting out.