How many years do you call back?

ABC

Guru
1000 Post Club
I have prospects that I have been calling on for over 5 years now. Is there ever a time you call quits with those prospects?
Should I put a 10 year mark on it and then call it quits?

After 5 years the prospect knows I am persistent
so its a current relationship that is me keeping out.

I have already thrown out the prospects that took my plan design and gave it to their current lazy broker.

Right now I have about 16 groups I have been calling on over 5 years.

Feedback?

If they do not see you as an unwelcome visitor I would not cull them. That being said, I would want them to know that I'm still dropping in because I want to do business with them at some point.

What I do with older leads is ask the "Cleansing Question". I don't remember where I got it, but because I am too lazy to type the whole thing out, here is a link to it:

Ask the Cleansing Question

It works. Give it a try.

Dan

FWIW, I never go out of my way to contact old prospects, but if it is convenient I will.

When I lived in Birmingham I called on a guy who was a referral from a close friend. Initially I was more diligent but eventually dropped it when it seemed he was not going to make a change any time soon.

After moving to Atlanta I had occasion to go back to Birmingham from time to time on business. Each time, if I was in the neighborhood, I would stop by unannounced just to reconnect.

We usually talked about some mutual friends but I always asked if he was ready to make a change. I never spent more than 10 - 15 minutes and he would always thank me for stopping by.

This went on for 15 years or longer.

One day I stopped in as usual and he surprised me by saying he was glad I came. He was totally pissed at his current carrier and ready to throw them out. The guy had 9 companies, all with the same carrier but all on different plans.

I ended up writing all but two of them.