How's This for a Proposal?

davido53

I have a relative who has a very successful independent agency on the other side of town with about 6 employees.

I am studying for my insurance license. I am wondering if I were to propose to him to open a branch agency on my side of town and set it up, he could potentially double his income.

Am I totally out of my mind? I myself do not have the capital to set up the office end of it, but I can work cheap since I am on a pension.

Do you think he would consider it?

tks

For me it would depend on your track record of selling. There are a lot of people that start out thinking this business is easier than it is. If I were him, I would take you in for a year or so and see if it's feasible after that.

Good Luck on your new career.

So you have not even got your lic yet and you think you can do what your family member can do and double his income..

HELL NO... is what he is going to tell you...

If he wanted to open another office,,why pick you?

Business is business.

He might actually be offended that you THINK you can do as well as him from the start. I would show an interest in what he does. Work for him and learn the ropes and if you feel the same way in a year or two then ask him.

I agree with the above posts!

No intelligent experienced agent is going to invest in a separate office (your talking an investment of thousands of dollars) for an agent who has absolutely no experience.
I dont care how close of a relative they are, if they have been in the business for more than 10 minutes they will know what a bad idea that is.

Heres the thing. There is a lot to learn in this business, and none of the things you need to know where on that test that you just passed.
They all have to be learned through experience and through mentoring by a more experienced agent.

Talk to your relative and tell him that you would like to work for them and learn the business from them.