Introduction - Young Captive, 7 Months in

CS Wahoo

This is my second official post and I figured it'd be good to introduce myself since I read a lot on here. I've been working as a captive agent in VA. I graduated college as a government major and worked a couple of state level campaigns, made some contacts with agents in insurance, and started studying to get my licenses. The job market was a little tough, but I landed a position with a captive in a rural area.

There are pros and cons to my situation, so I'll start with the cons. My sales manager is in and out of the office, so I don't receive quite the amount of mentoring like I thought I would. I do about 75% service work and 25% sales. It can be frustrating at times not having the support for real-life scenarios that occur in contrast to the all-things-constant type training I've received. My principal agent has made a push for me to go and prospect more with businesses, but that's about the extent of the advice. I don't mind doing this, but I literally know nothing about commercial insurance.

There are a lot of pros to my situation though. I have access to training which is essentially free aside from gas money. I didn't have to pay for a desk, computer, e&o, or anything like that. There is a large amount of leniency when it comes to taking time to go and prospect. I love selling, meeting with people, and applying the information that I have gained from self-study. It's the best job I've ever had and I'm hungry.

I've already used a lot of information from the people on this board and I look forward to learning a lot more. I welcome all advice and/or criticisms.

Last edited:
As tins said, welcome to the forum. Tons of info and help here.

I am in the health ins. biz., not sure what u are in but have you tried cold calling off a list? That is what I do most of the time and i am making a living and building up my residuals.